Guangzhou Administrative divisions

Map of Guangzhou District
Map of Guangzhou District

Guangzhou a sub-provincial city, the second most populated prefectural-level division of People’s Republic of China and it is divided into 10 districts and 2 County-level cities. Guangzhou is further divided into 131 Subdistricts and 38 Towns.

There are ten districts in Guangzhou:

Tianhe (天河 Tiānhé) — This is the new city center. It is thriving with many new developments, including skyscrapers like the CITIC Plaza and new construction within Zhujiang New Town. Highlights include the Grandview Mall along with other shopping centers and the Guangdong Museum.

Yuexiu (越秀 Yuèxiù) — This is the political and cultural center and includes the old Dongshan (东山, Dōngshān) area. Highlights include Yuexiu Park, Beijing Lu Shopping District, and Sun Yat-Sen Memorial Hall.

Liwan (荔湾 Lìwān) — This is the old Guangzhou, and is combined with the old Fangcun (芳村 Fāngcūn) area in the southwest. Tourist highlights include the colonial Shamian Island, Xiguan Old Houses, and Shangxiajiu shopping districts.

Haizhu (海珠Hǎizhū) — Located south of the Pearl River, the district is becoming more business focused, particularly in real estate and trading. Locals refer to this part of Guangzhou as Henan, meaning south of the river. Highlights include the Guangzhou Tower, the Canton Fair Pazhou Exhibition Center, Sun Yat-Sen University, and the Pearl River Promenade.

Baiyun (白云 Báiyún) — This district has a big rural touch, but is slowly being taken over by new developments. Highlights include the Baiyun Mountain.

Huangpu (黄埔 Huángpǔ) — Not well known among foreign tourists, this district is to the east of the city center. Highlights include the former Huangpu Military Academy.

Panyu (番禺 Pānyú) — This is the new area and it focuses on technology and economic development. Highlights include the Lianhua Mountain, Baomo Garden,Chimelong theme parks and the University Mega Center.

Huadu (花都 Huādū) — This is a developing industrial area. Highlights include Huadu Square and the New Baiyun International Airport.

Nansha (南沙 Nánshā) — This is an industrial area at the southern tip of the city. It is the new home to the high speed rail station.

Luogang (萝岗 Luógǎng) — This is the eastern part of the city and is famous for its plum forest. It is not a popular tourist destination, but it does have some historical sites and the famous Tianlu Lake Forest Park.

In addition to the 10 districts, two nearby cities have been drafted into Guangzhou’s jurisdiction:

Zengcheng (增城 Zēngchéng) is famous for its lychee fruit, which are picked in June and July.

Conghua (从化 Cónghuà) is known for its hot springs and Tianhe (Heavenly Lake) Recreation area.

The main tourist areas and metropolitan areas are in the northern part of the city and they include Liwan, Yuexiu, Tianhe ,Haizhu and Panyu

Check Also

Guangzhou Library

The Guangzhou Library, established by the Guangzhou Municipal Government (GMG), was created for the benefit …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.