Guangzhou Geography

Guangzhou, known historically as Canton or Kwangchow, is the capital and largest city of the Guangdong province in the People’s Republic of China.
Located in the south-central portion of Guangdong, Guangzhou spans from 112° 57′ to 114° 03′ E longitude and 22° 26′ to 23° 56′ N latitude. The city is part of the Pearl River Delta and the city center is situated next to the Baiyun Mountain, which is locally referred to as‘the lung of the city’ The total area under the city’s administration is 7,434.4 square kilometers (2,870.4 sq. mi), with the 10 districts occupying 3,843.43 square kilometers (1,483.96 sq. mi), or 51.7% of the total, while the two county-level cities occupy the rest.
The elevation of the prefecture generally increases from southwest to northeast, with mountains forming the backbone of the city, and the ocean comprising the front.
Neighboring Areas: Hunan, Jiangxi, Fujian, and Hainan provinces; Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Hong Kong and Macao
Guangzhou is a sub-provincial city. It has direct jurisdiction over ten districts and two county-level cities.
Yuexiu District
Liwan District
Haizhu District
Tianhe District
Baiyun District
Huangpu District
Huadu District
Panyu District
Nansha District
Luogang District
As of April 28, 2005, the districts of Dongshan and Fangcun have been abolished and merged into Yuexiu and Liwan respectively; at the same time the district of Nansha is established out of parts of Panyu, and the district of Luogang is established out of parts of Baiyun, Tianhe, Huangpu, and Zengcheng.
Rivers: Pearl River (West River, North River, East River), Nanhai, Liuhua Lake, Li Lake, Dongshan Lake.

Check Also

Guangzhou Library

The Guangzhou Library, established by the Guangzhou Municipal Government (GMG), was created for the benefit …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.